Edgelands

Image

I’ve always been drawn to places and spaces that in some way evolve beyond their origins or conventions – places of threshold, places of change. The stunning photos in this link show factories, fairgrounds and entire towns left to ruin. Caught between wilderness and control, they collapse, combine and intertwine with nature, creating something entirely new. These photos reveal abandonment as a creative act. They show us a vision of the future – of the mortality of our species. 

When I was about 10 years old, my brother and I played in an abandoned, fallen-in building, choked with sycamores and wild garlic. It was close to our house, but I hated being there alone. I remember virtually nothing of my childhood, but the oppressive sense of presence that radiated from those old stones has stayed with me.

The less control we have on our buildings, the more control they take back for themselves. 

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Exclusion | Simon Sylvester
  2. Pingback: Jacobean dereliction | Simon Sylvester
  3. Pingback: Goussainville ghost town | Simon Sylvester
  4. Pingback: A century of… | Simon Sylvester

Leave a Reply

